Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Science, Crime & Law: Social Science Materials

This guide was created for Professor Katheryn Russell-Brown's Social Science, Crime & Law class.

International, Federal, & State Government Databases

International, federal, and state governments gather and publish statistics about a variety of social, political, and economic conditions. Sometimes they also publish reports that analyze the data.  Below are some examples: 

International

  • Eurostat = European statistics on health, population, economy, international trade, etc.
  • UNdata = data points cover wide range of themes including agriculture, crime, education, employment, energy, environment, health, HIV/AIDS, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, tourism, trade, etc.

Federal

State

  • Search for data on a Florida agency website.  E.g., The Florida Department of Law Enforcement's Data & Statistics page.

Top Academic Databases

Academics develop and test hypotheses through surveys, focus groups, etc., analyze the results, and then publish the results in an academic journal.   Below are 4 databases that will help you efficiently find books and articles on your topic.  Note: if you search in these databases and get overwhelmed with results, refine your keywords, and filter results to articles published in the last 3 years

  1. Ebsco-hosted databases.  Follow the link and search in all databases, which include: the Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, Academic Search Premier, Social Sciences Full Text, PsycINFO, and many others.  
  2. Web of Science. Basically, the "sherpard's" of social science articles.  Must download the VPN to access if off-campus.
  3. Google Scholar.  This database provides articles from legal periodicals and materials from social science databases, government websites, and Google Books
  4. UF Library Catalog.  "OneSearch" search engine lets you find books, ebooks, and articles on your topic that may not have otherwise been discovered in one of the databases above.  You must download the VPN to access e-resources.

Organizational Websites

Organizations, federally/state-funded or privately-funded, are another source for social science materials.  These organizations will publish reports that analyze data to support policy arguments that further the organization's mission.  Be wary of bias in these sources (and all sources).  Some examples are:  

Books at the LIC